Posted by: Lexy | 28 May, 2008

Festivals 2008 – UK: Blissfields

BLISSFIELDS HAS NOW BEEN CANCELLED. SEE THIS POST FOR MORE DETAILS.

As festival season begins, I return to All Flowers in Time, clear out most of my old posts and begin afresh by giving you the details of all the best festivals this summer both in the UK and abroad.

We begin with what will be the first festival of my summer…

What: Blissfields

Where: Matterley Bowl, Winchester, Hampshire

When: 4th-6th July 2008

Price: £60 for the whole weekend with camping, day tickets are also available for £30/35.

After winning Best Small Festival at the UK Festival Awards for Blissfields 7 (quite right too!), not to mention also being listed among the best festivals in a number of national newspapers, Blissfields 8 will see a move to a new venue. Previously held at Bradley Farm, restrictions meant that Blissfields was unable to host more than 1000 festival-goers on the site. This year it will be held at Matterley Bowl near Winchester, previous home to Homelands and Hi-Fi festival allowing for it to cater for a hugely increased number of 5000.

The increased capacity has also resulted in a higher profile line-up compared to previous years with The Wonder Stuff, The Whip and Roni Size headlining. Across the 3 days a huge variety of acts can be found, including Noah and the Whale, The Rumble Strips, The Pan I Am, Robots in Disguise, Maps, Peggy Sue and the Pirates, Delays and Johnny Flynn, all of them appearing on either The Punch Bowl or The Manor (that’s the main stage and stage 2 to you and me!)

Stage Thrice will be housing local showcases turning Friday over to the lovely people of The Winchester Massive. Later in the evening Stage Thrice will be turning into a dance area after The Lounge became an unplanned dance tent last year – resulting in some highly amusing/drunken photos for me – meaning that the festivities will be going on for even longer.

Link to Blissfields line-up poster

Food and drink are reasonably priced (cheap in fact, compared to what you usually expect from festivals) and of fantastic standard. Very good falafel and vodka jelly shots if memory serves…Huge variety at any rate and you can read all about what there will be available here.

I shall be there, stewarding to pay my way through the weekend. 😛 (I’m as poor as poor can be, you’ll understand why when I write the next festival post. *Sigh*) Last year I went a couple of weeks after finishing my A Levels and had an absolutely brilliant weekend that I can do nothing but recommend. If I have half as much fun this year, it’ll still be beyond excellent. I hear that tickets have been selling well due to the good weather we had last week so do the clever thing and buy your ticket right this minute.

www.blissfields.co.uk

MP3 Maps – To The Sky | Website / MySpace

MP3 Johnny Flynn – Leftovers | Website / MySpace

MP3 Noah and the Whale – Five Years Time | MySpace


Leave a comment

Categories